The Federal Ministry Transportation has rewarded 68 outstanding staff for productivity and diligence in service delivery.

The event which took place on Friday in Abuja at the July 2021, Town Hall Meeting for staff of the Ministry had in attendance the Minister of Transportation, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi and the Minister of State, Transportation, Sen. Gbemisola Ruqayyah Saraki.

The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Dr. Magdalene Ajani, said “the reward was a fallout of a directive from the Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan, who said the usual annual Civil Servants Commendation Award should be done at Ministry level this year because of the COVID-19 pandemic”.

Dr. Magdalene Ajani said that the criteria adopted was a demonstration of excellence in performing assigned tasks, meeting targets as well as an overall performance across service value chain.

Reacting to questions and issues during the interactive session which had the theme: “Code of Ethics in Public Service and the Role of Labour Force in Nation Building” the Permanent Secretary, assured members of staff that their welfare is of interest to the Management.

Clement Obosi, a retired Director and one of the facilitators, speaking on Code of Ethics in Public Service reiterated the importance of work ethics and its effects, noting that a public servant should give 100% of his ability to his organization in order to achieve set mandates.

Also speaking, on the role of Labour Force in Nation Building, the Vice Chairman, Federal Council, Nigerian Civil Service Union, Comrade Isah Usman Debiri, said labour force drives policies to achieve developmental goals. He added that it is the duty of the labour Unions to remind the management of their promises and ensure compliance.

In his remarks, the Director, Human Resources Management, Muyideen Sani Awwal appreciated the Ministers and Permanent Secretary for initiating the town hall meeting and congratulated all the awardees and admonished them to keep up the good work, saying rewards calls for more work.

The highlight of the occasion was the presentation of certificates of commendation to all the awardees by the Honourable Minister of State for Transportation, Sen. Gbemisola Ruqayyah Saraki.

Eric Ojiekwe
Director, Press & PR
17th July, 2021


Visits:193 | Today: 1 | Total: 1369962